Sustaining: An Exploration of Life Post Environment 320

Image

Class Photo. Bowling Green State University, Election Night 2012

In the face of a seemingly ever-changing journalistic landscape, many journalists have created new innovations dealing with how to present, gather and distribute news. Through these innovations many journalists have succeeded in branding themselves–communicating their relevance to a larger audience.

Remaining relevant is only part of the issue, however. As this class come to a close, we can start to think about how we will expand and continue our journalistic growth. 

 

Image

Adam & Haris on Election Night

Knowing how to communicate with the public, especially as a journalist, is such a important skill (one that we all can continue to develop). So important that there’s actually a youtube channel dedicated to sharing information and tips on great reporting skills. Scott Simon gives excellent advice on how to tell a story that catches the attention of readers & editors alike. 

Another thing to think about is how you’re going to build your personal brand, when this class is over? This article by the Guardian give some tips on how to build an effective personal brand from scratch.

Image

The beautiful Kristen. Election Night 2012

If you’re interested in continuing your journalistic career what do you think your next move will be? Maybe you’ll look to compete in a couple journalistic competitions on campus or submit your work to a campus publishing organization. Here are the links to few: Water Rodney Essay Competition, Consider Magazine, and Lead Magazine.

What’s your next step? 

  

 

5 Responses to “Sustaining: An Exploration of Life Post Environment 320”

  1. Clancey, that photo of Kirsten is just the best! I like the lines — and the smile, of course.

  2. Though I don’t have the intention of becoming a journalist one day, I still believe I have learned a great deal about communicating information from this class. I never knew how to write in a journalistic style before I took this class. In fact, I felt like my first draft of the profile assignment read more like an essay than an actual article. I definitely learned a lot about how to report the news and helpful tips to effectively communicate. I think the things I learned will be helpful in the future despite my lack of interest in becoming a journalist.

    I don’t really know what my next step is going to be. I like the Guardian article. I think it provides some good tips. Hopefully I’ll be able to figure out what my next step is soon, and I think there’s a lot of useful information out there to assist me.

  3. I wish I had an answer for what my next step is. I find myself going back and forth between wanting to do actual research and using writing to communicate scientific ideas to the public and to inform policy makers. I really liked the Guardian article, thanks for posting it Clancey! I thought Purkiss’ idea that as writers it is important to brand yourself to produce widely read pieces. He mentions that it is not enough to do your best or even to be an excellent writer; journalists and authors alike must meld their values, style, talents together to form a particular mission for their writing, which will define their publications and career. After all, “your brand is what people say about you when you’re not in the room.” I found this idea very interesting. I’m curious how often writers change their direction or their brand? Once one has a well defined and well recognized brand, how easy is it to make the switch? What makes one author more effective at making the transition than another?

  4. Hi Clancey,

    What a great way to end this course with your post! As the posters above me, I do not know what my next step is, but I do think that this course helped me learn how to communicate difficult scientific topics to a broad audience. Coming into the class I was used to writing articles that could be printed in medical/scientific journals that are read by a select group of people. I did not have much experience communicating this sort of knowledge to a broad audience. However after writing my profile and news feature and translating a scientific article in this class, I realized how important of a skill I have gained. As a future research surgeon, I now know how important it is to be able to communicate the scientific work that I do to a broad audience. Because who cares about my work if no one can understand it?!

  5. The photos are a really nice touch to this blog post. I feel honored to be included! The future of news for me is going to be most likely as a reader. I took this course with the hope of getting a more comprehensive look into how media and journal shapes the type of information present. I was not disappointed, and I will use the skills to read news stories in a more critical way. I also plan on being more investigative in my interest in environment and public health. I’m heading to Washington, D.C after graduation in May to start work with a company that is always looking through the news to find new issues in international development. So while I may not be writing as a journalist, I will be reporting on articles with new found writing skills. I hope to read some of our classmates’ stories someday.

Leave a Reply

