A Reflection on I Believe

I believe that modern mass media has embraced sensationalism in order to bolster ratings.

I believe that the biggest opportunity facing news organizations today is the vast expanse that is the internet, which offers a new platform for news and media distribution.

I believe that the biggest problem facing news organizations today is finding a way to profit and maintain a news organization as a business, when the internet makes information and news so easily available (and free!)

I believe that my greatest challenge as a journalist is not allowing my personal biases to influence my writing.

I believe that it is important to stay updated not only on domestic/local current events, but also international current events.

I believe that staying up to date on current events and news is not only interesting, but also extremely important.

I believe that the internet, and the availability of seemingly limitless information which it provides, makes staying updated on news and current events very easy.

I believe that the biggest problem with journalism today is the heavy-handed sensationalism.

I believe that writing for the general public is hard because many people no longer care about actual news and current events.

I believe that it is important when consuming media, to remember that the media may be biased.

Looking back at the first assignment I turned in for this class, I’m a little startled. I don’t think that the opinions that led me to make these statements have changed, but I am surprised at how much more in depth I think about each of these statements. I feel so much more informed on all of these statements. I feel like I’ve gained a lot of insight into the context to a lot of these statements. Specifically, I’ve gained a lot of insight not only into the inner workings and reasoning behind the way mass media reports, but also as to what it’s like to write a news feature and how it feels to be a reporter.

Perhaps one of the most influential experiences I had in this course and which is extremely relevant into my reflections as to what I believe about journalism, was our trip to the Detroit Free Press newsroom. Getting behind the scenes of the process that goes into even just picking which stories to pick up was fascinating and provided a really interesting look into the media’s approach to the news.

Similarly, responding to news articles through the blog was a very unique way to be able to learn about and interact with the media at the same time. Tyler Borchers’ article covers the benefits and importance of this kind of interaction with the news and media. It really provided an outlet for consequential and thought-provoking conversations on various different types of news article. It also provided an outlet for learning from my peers and their own thoughts on the media.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

