I Believe Reflection

I believe…

…that news is not dying

 

…that although there are less people receiving newspapers, people still care about important issues

 

…that the most challenging thing about being a journalist is getting important people to respond to your questions

 

…that interviewing people about news is necessary to create a credible, accurate and interesting piece of journalism

 

…that the biggest problem with journalism today is people being too invested in superfluous things such as what is going on in celebrities lives and not caring about much else

 

…that my greatest strength as a journalist is being passionate about issues

 

…that everyone can be a journalist if they care enough about the topic and care enough about informing the public

 

…that the best journalism creates even just a small change and gets people to think and care issues that is actually important to their own life

 

…that writing for the general public can be difficult if people do not care about the topic even if it affects their daily life

 

…that the biggest opportunity facing news organizations today is the utilization of applications on smartphones

 

 

Looking back at my past statements, I do not think my opinions have necessarily changed, I am just much more informed. Now looking back, I can think of so many more things I could have said, but when I wrote these in September I had no journalism background.

 

I find it interesting that I wrote the most challenging thing about being a journalist is getting people to respond to your questions. While now I see that there are many more issues being a journalist, such as finding someone to publish your story or people not caring about issues you want to write about, I still think that getting people to respond is an issue. A lot of people I tried to interview took a long time to respond to my calls or emails, and some I could not get a hold of at all.

 

Something I would like to revise is my statement that “everyone can be a journalist if they care enough about the topic and care enough about informing the public”. I would like to change that to ‘everyone can participate in journalism’ instead. Although I want to change the statement, I do not think it is any less important.

 

After taking this class, I am sure I will continue participating in journalism even if it doesn’t involve writing articles. I am grateful for the various speakers I have had the pleasure of meeting and learning from, and the fun fieldtrips we were able to take this year to learn outside of the classroom. Thank you, Julie and Emilia for sharing your insight and being so helpful!

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

