Where the News and Readers Meet

In this article, Jeff Jarvis talks about how the delivery of news to readers has completely changed with the use of social media and content-sharing sites. The article explains how in this modern world, news is delivered to the readers directly with an article link instead of a newspaper or a homepage of a publication.

I liked how Jarvis clearly listed and explained examples of this phenomenon. Some examples mentioned were how users use direct article links instead of browsing a home page, and tools that are now provided by major tech companies such as Facebook’s Instant Articles and Google’s Accelerated Mobile Pages (AMP). I did not know about Google’s AMP service, so that was interesting for me to read about.

While I did find this article interesting and filled with information, I wish there were more quotes and perspectives reported from major publications and the tailored “media brands” on Facebook that Jarvis mentioned. I did appreciate the quotes from Ev Williams of Medium, but I personally did not find that perspective to be enough. Did you think that the reporting was fair in this article? What voices do you think are missing, if any?

I personally like both the news meeting me where I am, and going to the news myself. I do find tailored news on my Facebook newsfeed enjoyable, but I also like to read news that is not directly in my sphere of interest. I like going directly to news sites to find news I wouldn’t think to look for, or ask for. Do you like the idea of news being tailored for you and your interests, and meeting you “where you are”?

3 Responses to “Where the News and Readers Meet”

  1. Interesting piece here Yumi. One thing I would start by saying is that this seems almost as a somewhat personal take on this new technology and how it could be used, rather than just a discussion about this new method. As you can see by his use of rhetorical questions and first-person language.

    However, I did find the information in the article to be captivating because it gives one perspective on how the news is changing. I also think his metaphors were intriguing, such as “Content is being set free.” I both enjoy and fear the news being tailored to my interests because I think it works well to have the news you find interesting embedded in the sites that you visit all of the time. Yet, I fear that this could be an infringement on privacy in some cases, and it may continue to add to the fact that most people only seek out news that is aligning to their views. It will be interesting to see if any sites try to do something in the opposite by exposing people to news they may not be familiar with.

    Overall though, very interesting piece, and I am interested to see what happens in the future. This article could almost be a Knight News Challenge piece.

  2. giancarlobuonomo Reply March 29, 2016 at 8:53 pm

    Thanks for sharing this article with us Yumi — the irony being that without you, I would never have found this article, because I never go on the Observer website. I agree with you and Harry, that this piece needed some more perspectives, although it is more of an op-ed and less of a straight news article. The angle I think the author could have explored more, though, was the “so what?” Is this affecting how media makes money? Is this affecting the type of news people get and read? I’d be interested to know, because he mentioned how websites require paid professionals to build and curate, but are becoming obsolete. I wonder whether, as newspapers and magazines shrink budgets, whether websites will become financially unviable — even though web ads account for a lot of revenue.

  3. While reading this article, to me it almost felt like reading an article from cracked.com because of the voice he used in parts of it. Part of it might have been because it was a lot of opinion-based writing and, like you said, not very much outside source. I have mixed opinions about the news coming to me rather than me going to the news. I enjoy that I can scroll through my Facebook news feed and find a lot of interesting articles, but there is not very much of a variety of news stories that way.

    I was interested in what Jeff Jarvis said about only 10% of readers even see the homepage of a news source, so I looked up a few to see what the homepages looked like. The more respected newspapers (ex. https://www.washingtonpost.com/) have easy-to-manage websites with clear labels, while other, more clickbait websites seem to be a lot busier (ex. guff.com). I know from what I see my Facebook friends posting that the clickbait articles are very popular, and it’s no wonder no one is using the homepage to find things because it is so busy! I just thought that was a little interesting.

Leave a Reply

