I Believe Revisited

In revisiting my “I Believe” assignment, I had a strong feeling about my last “I believe” statement. The statement was:

  • I believe that a great idea for delivering news is through twitter and social media applications.

Upon further review, I now think that it is a terrible idea to deliver news through twitter and social media applications. I have learned that users on twitter and other forms of social media can hand-pick the news or viewpoint that they want to be true. Twitter and social media outlets have too narrow a viewpoint to be any type of effective medium for productive news reading. Not that I have too much faith in CNN or other online sites that use varied tactics like sensationalist content (Harbaugh) or fear-provoking headlines (Ebola: The ISIS of Biological Agents?) to deliver quality news, but one news outlet that should not be used for mainstream purposes is twitter and social media.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

