I believe, revisited

My experience in this class has probably been a little different than some other students, because I came in having already done journalism and having worked at The Daily. When I wrote my original “I believe,” I wrote it based on the principles that I have tried to follow when writing and reporting for the last few years. Looking back on them, I don’t think any have changed, per se. I still believe that “the best journalism seeks to understand and contextualize rather than simply criticize,” and that “even if objectivity is a myth, that doesn’t mean ideology should replace it.” What has changed, for me, is how to best put these principles into action. I came into this class as someone who believed that the best journalism was that which was the best written — in other words, that prose style is what makes the piece. At our visit to the Free Press newsroom the other day, one of the editors said that he wished more reporters would express their opinions, because they have knowledge and expertise that few other people have. After this class, which has been a learning experience in my own ignorance of numerous subjects, I believe now that the best journalism is not only that which is the best written, but the most informed. Because in a world where it’s become increasingly easy to have a surface knowledge of a million subjects, it’s nice to know that there are people who really know one subject, and can write about it. 

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

