Reflecting on my “I believe” Statements

Overall, I think many of my beliefs about journalism and news stayed relatively the same throughout the class with a few small exceptions.

Two beliefs definitely stayed the same throughout this class, and they go hand in hand: “I believe that my greatest strength as a journalist is my passion” and “I believe that my greatest challenge as a journalist is remaining unbiased about issues I care deeply about.” While I expected these beliefs to stay the same, I didn’t realize just how true they were until I wrote my news feature story on the resettlement and integration of refugees into American workplaces. I found it much harder than I ever could have predicted to keep my opinions and emotions out of the interviews and final story, especially following the presidential election results and what that meant for the refugee community. Remaining unbiased was very difficult for me throughout this class, and it is something that I think will remain a big challenge for me as I consider pursuing a journalism career.

One belief that changed slightly was “I believe that everyone can be a journalist if they can learn how to tell a compelling story.” While I do believe that most people can accomplish their professional goals if they really set their mind to it, after writing my news feature story, I began to see how really hard being a journalist is. It takes being extremely persistent and determined with tracking down sources and asking sometimes uncomfortable questions to get the best, more informative story. My experience with my news feature story really opened my eyes to the field of journalism, and I hope to become a more informed and aware consumer of news after my experience in this class.

About natalieandrasko

Natalie is a junior with a major in International Studies and minors in Program in the Environment and Asian Languages and Cultures. Natalie is passionate about the intersection between international development and sustainability, and will be spending two months interning at Frontier Markets in Jaipur, Rajasthan. The Indian government has recently made a massive push towards solar energy as India's energy demand grows, but the rural electrification rate remains much lower than in urban areas. Frontier Markets addresses this problem by partnering with local entrepreneurs and training rural women to sell their solar products to other women, in a program called Solar Sahelis. Natalie will be researching the marketing tactics Frontier Markets uses to convince these women to sell and use their products, and the methods they use to teach them about the environmental and health consequences of using coal. She hopes to bring everything she learns from her time in India to her future career in global health and international development.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

