At the beginning of the semester, I wrote that I thought that my own bias might interfere with my work. I was surprised at how easy it actually was to go into my news story objectively, just asking the reasonable questions- to slip out of that biased mindset. I also wrote that the headline of an article might be the most important part, but I think my opinion has shifted on that- now that I know more about structure, I think that the headline is a pretty simple means of conveying information- it’s the lede that will actually attract and retain interested readers.

One of the other things I touched on at the beginning of the term was that the biggest challenge facing news organizations was inconsistent funding- I didn’t really realize the extent to which that was the case. I was actually a little unnerved by how badly things were going at the Detroit Free Press, how the Detroit News Room was desperately trying to adapt to the web age.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

